2010 Participants

Matt Gaudet, LSU

Paul Hoilman, East Tennessee

Matt Leeds, Charleston

Ricky Oropesa, USC

Dan Paolini, Siena

Jordan Ribera, Fresno State

Matt Skole, Georgia Tech



OMAHA (July 7, 2010) - East Tennessee State junior Paul Hoilman put on an impressive display by hitting 17 total home runs, 12 of which came in the final round, to win the inaugural TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby at historic Rosenblatt Stadium. The first baseman cruised past Jordan Ribera of Fresno State (1 home run) and Matt Skole of Georgia Tech (0 home runs) in the final round to win the title.

Hoilman showed off his prodigious power in the final round, hitting seven home runs in his first 11 swings before recording five straight outs. He finished with a flourish however, belting five more homers before recording his final out to bump his final-round score to 12.

Skole led all players with six home runs in the opening round, while Hoilman and Ribera also earned spots in the final round by clubbing five and three homers, respectively.

Hoilman, the Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Year and a Baseball America Third Team All-America selection, had one of the best single seasons in East Tennessee State history and ranked among NCAA Division I leaders with 25 home runs, a .421 batting average and 79 runs. His .860 slugging percentage was tops in the nation.

National Baseball Hall of Famer Mike Schmidt and all of Fame inductee Andre Dawson served as honorary hitting coaches for the event. 


First round

Matt Skole (Georgia Tech) 6
Paul Hoilman (East Tennessee State) 5
Jordan Ribera (Fresno State) 3
Matt Gaudet (LSU) 2
Ricky Oropesa (USC) 2
Dan Paolini (Siena) 1
Matt Leeds (College of Charleston) 0



Paul Hoilman (East Tennessee State) 12
Jordan Ribera (Fresno State) 1
Matt Skole (Georgia Tech) 0