2011 Daniel Aldrich

Daniel Aldrich, Charleston

Joey DeMichele, Arizona State

Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt

Dylan Pratt, East Tennessee State

Andrew Rash, Virginia Tech

Victor Roache, Georgia Southern 

Richie Shaffer, Clemson

Doung Shribman, Bucknell



OMAHA (July 3, 2011) – Redshirt freshman Daniel Aldrich of College of Charleston won the 2011 TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby tonight by hitting four home runs in the final round to slip past Georgia Southern slugger Victor Roache, 4-2. Aldrich walloped a grand total of 14 homers spanning three rounds in the contest that featured eight of the country’s top long-ball hitters at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha.

Aldrich got off to a fast start by mashing seven home runs, nearly four times as many as the next closest competitor, in the opening round. The left-handed hitter then clubbed three more roundtrippers in round two to finish with 10 home runs and earn a position in the final. Roache was consistent, hitting a pair of home runs in each of the first two rounds to secure a spot against Aldrich in the finals.

Each player received eight outs in the final round and after Aldrich hit four home runs in his turn at the plate, Roache posted seven consecutive outs before making things interesting by crushing back-to-back roundtrippers to draw within two of the leader. However, Roache’s next swing resulted in an out, giving Aldrich the title.

Aldrich led all NCAA Division I freshmen with 22 home runs and 73 RBI en route to National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Freshman of the Year and Southern Conference Freshman of the Year accolades in 2011. He was also tabbed Louisville Slugger All-America.

National Baseball Hall of Famer Paul Molitor and former Major Leaguer Joe Carter, who in 1993 hit one of the most famous home runs in World Series history, served as honorary hitting coaches at this year’s TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby.


First round

Daniel Aldrich (College of Charleston) 7
Dylan Pratt (East Tennessee State) 2
Victor Roache (Georgia Southern) 2
Richie Shaffer (Clemson) 1
Joey DeMichele (Arizona State) 0
Connor Harrell (Vanderbilt) 0
Andrew Rash (Virginia Tech) 0
Doug Shribman (Bucknell) 0


Second round

Daniel Aldrich (College of Charleston) 3 (10 total)
Victor Roache (Georgia Southern) 2 (4 total)
Dylan Pratt (East Tennessee State) 1 (3 total)
Richie Shaffer (Clemson) 1 (2 total)
Connor Harrell (Vanderbilt) 1 (1 total)
Andrew Rash (Virginia Tech) 1 (1 total)
Joey DeMichele (Arizona State) 0 (0 total)
Doug Shribman (Bucknell) 0 (0 total)



Daniel Aldrich (College of Charleston) 4
Victor Roache (Georgia Southern) 2