2014 Participants

Michael Aquino, Rice

Tres Barrera, Texas

Matt Dacey, Richmond

Bobby Dalbec, Arizona

Eric Gutierrez, Texas Tech

Hunter Haley, Oklahoma

Sikes Orvis, Ole Miss

Zach Ratcliff, Ohio State



OMAHA, Neb. (July 3, 2014)  Tres Barrera of the University of Texas won the 2014 TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby in record-setting fashion tonight at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in front of 22,352 fans and a national television audience on ESPN. A record 128 home runs were hit in tonight’s competition.

Barrera, a freshman catcher, and Eric Gutierrez of Texas Tech put on a record-setting display this evening as the former teammates from Sharyland High School in Mission, Texas, battled it out in the final round. Barrera set a TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby record by belting 25 home runs in the final round, including the first-ever home runs hit to center field in TD Ameritrade Park Omaha, to edge Gutierrez, who slugged 18 dingers of his own in the championship.

Gutierrez set a TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby record himself by mashing 52 total home runs in the competition.

“On behalf of more than six thousand TD Ameritrade associates nationwide, we congratulate Tres Barrera on this victory,” Katrina Booker, Managing Director, Communications and Public Affairs, TD Ameritrade said. “This was a great night for college baseball, family, and Omaha and we were thrilled to be a part of it.”

Le Moyne College senior Pat Wiese was also recognized at the event as the recipient of the TD Ameritrade Fan’s Choice Award. The third-annual award honors college baseball players who are positive role models both on and off the field, excel in the classroom and community and display leadership qualities that inspire others. The winner was determined by fans via a Facebook competition that amassed thousands of votes.

College baseball legends Dustin Ackley, Steve Arlin, Will Clark and Mark Kotsay were inducted into the Omaha College Baseball Hall of Fame prior to the game and were recognized on the field during the event.

For more information about the TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby, including behind the scenes content, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

The 2014 TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby was produced and marketed by Intersport, in conjunction with TD Ameritrade.

TD Ameritrade Holding Corporation and Intersport are separate and unaffiliated companies and are not responsible for each other’s services or policies.

Source: TD Ameritrade Holding Corporation

About TD Ameritrade Holding Corporation

Millions of investors and independent registered investment advisors (RIAs) have turned to TD Ameritrade's (NYSE: AMTD) technologypeople and education to help make investing and trading easier to understand and do. Online or over the phone. In a branch or with an independent RIA. First-timer or sophisticated trader. Our clients want to take control, and we help them decide how - bringing Wall Street to Main Street for more than 39 years. Anofficial sponsor of the 2014 and 2016 U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Teams, TD Ameritrade has time and again been recognized as a leader in investment services. Please visit TD Ameritrade's newsroom or www.amtd.com for more information.

Brokerage services provided by TD Ameritrade, Inc., member FINRA (www.FINRA.org) /SIPC (www.SIPC.org) /NFA (www.nfa.futures.org)

About Intersport

Since 1985, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports and entertainment based marketing platforms.  Intersport creates unique content and experiences for clients that attract and engage passionate audiences through four divisions: Sponsorship & Event Marketing, Sports Properties, Sports & Entertainment Content (for broadcast and digital media), and CelebTV. To learn more about Intersport, log on towww.intersportnet.com, like us on Facebook (www.Facebook.com/IntersportBuzz) or follow us on Twitter (@IntersportBuzz).


First Round

Eric Gutierrez (Texas Tech) 15
Tres Barrera (Texas) 11
Matt Dacey (Richmond) 5
Zach Ratcliff (Ohio State) 5
Sikes Orvis (Mississippi) 4
Michael Aquino (Rice) 4
Bobby Dalbec (Arizona) 3
Hunter Haley (Oklahoma) 1



Gutierrez 19 (34)
Barrera 5 (16)
Dacey 9 (14)
Ratcliff 5 (10)



Barrera 25
Gutierrez 18