2016 Participants

Hagen Owenby, East Tennessee State

Brent Rooker, Mississippi State

Dylan Busby, Florida State

Gary Russo, Miami (Ohio)

Joe Davis, Houston

Colby Bortles, Ole Miss

Greg Deichmann, LSU

Reid Russell, Lamar



OMAHA, Neb., July 3, 2016  Hagen Owenby of East Tennessee State University won the 2016 TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby in record-setting fashion tonight at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in front of 20,428 fans and a national television audience on ESPN2. A record 185 home runs were hit in tonight’s competition, which shattered the previous record of 128 set in 2014.

Owenby faced Houston’s Joe Davis in the final round and won on a walk-off home run with less than 10 seconds remaining to edge Davis, 13 homers to 12. Owenby (44) and Davis (42) combined for an incredible 66 home runs throughout the competition.

Owenby became the second ETSU player to win the College Home Run Derby. ETSU’s Paul Hoilman won the inaugural event in 2010. The Bucs head coach, Tony Skole, pitched for both Hoilman and Owenby.

College baseball legends Barry Bonds, Ron Fraser, Keith Moreland and Todd Walker were inducted into the Omaha College Baseball Hall of Fame prior to the game and were recognized on the field during the event.


First Round

Hagen Owenby (East Tennessee State) 22
Joe Davis (Houston) 15
Reid Russell (Lamar) 15
Brent Rooker (Mississippi State) 15
Greg Deichmann (LSU) 12
Gary Russo (Miami-Ohio) 12
Colby Bortles (Ole Miss) 10
Dylan Busby (Florida State) 9



Joe Davis (Houston) 16 (31)
Hagen Owenby (ETSU) 9 (31)
Reid Russell (Lamar) 14 (29)
Brent Rooker (Mississippi State) 12 (27)



Hagen Owenby (ETSU) 13
Joe Davis (Houston) 11