2017 Participants

Niko Hulsizer, Morehead State

Chandler Taylor, Alabama

Griffin Conine, Duke

Julian Infante, Vanderbilt

Logan Davidson, Clemson

Tristan Pompey, Kentucky



OMAHA, Neb. (July 1, 2017)  Niko Hulsizer of Morehead State University won the 2017 College Home Run Derby at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in front of 21,607 fans and a national television audience on ESPN2. Hulsizer and runner-up Chandler Taylor of Alabama each hit 49 home runs, which is the second most ever in College Home Run Derby history.

Hulsizer edged Taylor in dramatic fashion in the final round, 16 homers to 15. Taylor narrowly missed the Quicken Loans Money Ball that would have crowned him the champion in walk-off fashion after trailing Hulsizer by one in the finals. Hulsizer (49) and Taylor (49) combined for an incredible 98 home runs throughout the competition.

Hulsizer finished the 2017 season leading the nation in RBI per game and ranked second in the nation with an MSU and Ohio Valley Conference single-season record 27 home runs. Assistant coach Adam Brown served as his pitcher.

Other participants included players from Griffin Conine (Duke), Logan Davidson (Clemson), Tristan Pompey (Kentucky) and Julian Infante (Vanderbilt) along with Hulsizer and Taylor.

College baseball legends Pat Burrell (Miami) and Fred Lynn (Southern California) were inducted into the Omaha College Baseball Hall of Fame prior to the game and were recognized on the field during the event.


First Round

Niko Hulsizer (Morehead State) 19
Chandler Taylor (Alabama) 17
Tristan Pompey (Kentucky) 16
Julian Infante (Vanderbilt) 12
Logan Davidson (Clemson) 11
Griffin Conine (Duke) 6



Niko Hulsizer (Morehead State) 16 (35)
Chandler Taylor (Alabama) 17 (33)
Julian Infante (Vanderbilt) 12 (29)
Tristan Pompey (Kentucky) 16 (27)



Niko Hulsizer (Morehead State) 17
Chandler Taylor (Alabama) 16